College Policy Debate Forums
June 19, 2018, 12:21:23 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: IF YOU EXPERIENCE PROBLEMS WITH THE SITE, INCLUDING LOGGING IN, PLEASE LET ME KNOW IMMEDIATELY.  EMAIL ME DIRECTLY OR USE THE CONTACT US LINK AT THE TOP.

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Speaker Points, Packets, and Ballots: The Lost Year  (Read 3838 times)
Ryan Galloway

« on: February 08, 2010, 10:05:16 PM »

Greetings,

Our experimentation with speaker point scales and the lack of printed packets is coming at a cost.  As a coach, I feel like this was a lost year of valuable information and dialogue with my students about their progress.  Our rush to innovation is coming at the expense of valuable coaching information.  I suggest either working on fixing problems or slowing down our rush to experimentation until we connect the dots on providing coaches information they are used to.  I feel speaker point innovation, delayed or the lack of packets, and the lack of the giving out of written ballots (at ADA tournaments) is depriving coaches of useful information to help their students.  More needs to be done to keep coaches in the loop on the progress of their students.

First:  speaker point innovation.  I won't rehash much that I haven't said before.  Right now, I view speaker point innovation schemes as a failure.  The information I have received for my younger teams in particular has not moved beyond the instability pointed out in the past.  We simply have failed as a community to agree upon a "solution" to a problem I feel has been increasingly exaggerated (speaker point conflation at the top of the bracket).  The primary goal for tournament directors with regard to speaker points should be to agree upon one scale, publish it, and move the community toward a singular norm.