College Policy Debate Forums
March 23, 2018, 08:10:14 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
   Home   Help Search Login Register CEDA caselist Debate Results Council of Tournament Directors Edebate Archive  
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 10
 on: February 09, 2018, 01:25:20 PM 
Started by UAH_Debate - Last post by whwatson
Happy to help y'all.   

Feel free to email me - whwatson at uga dot edu

Hays Watson
University of Georgia

 on: February 09, 2018, 11:42:32 AM 
Started by UAH_Debate - Last post by UAH_Debate
Hello! I am the President of the University of Alabama in Huntsville Debate Society. We have recently decided to form a policy team that will (hopefully) start competitions next school year. I was wondering if anyone has any advice on coaching, fundraisers, first tournaments, or really anything else. My VP and I are the only ones with policy experience, but I did four years through NSDA and he went to Nationals through a homeschool league. We are the only coaches we have, so will there be a problem if we represent us or do we need to bring along our adviser? Thanks in advance!

 on: February 05, 2018, 02:50:14 PM 
Started by SherryHall - Last post by SherryHall
Soliciting Nominations for 2018 National Debate Tournament Coaching Awards

Each year the Board of Trustees of the National Debate Tournament awards the Lucy M. Keele and George Ziegelmueller coaching awards.  This year the Board is inviting nominations from active coaches in the NDT community.

The Lucy M. Keele Award

The Lucy Keele Award honors the former Director of Debate at CSU Fullerton and member of the Board of Trustees for many years. The award was created to recognize outstanding service to the Debate Community. The award recognizes individuals who have devoted time and effort to make the debate community a more enjoyable and productive experience for students.

   Recent recipients of this award include:  2010 - Jim Hanson and Aaron Hardy; 2011 - Dallas Perkins; 2012 - Gary Larson; 2013 - Tim O’Donnell; 2014 – Sarah Partlow Lefevre; 2015 – John Fritch; 2016 – David Hingstman; 2017 – Michael Davis.

The George Ziegelmueller Award

Wayne State Debate Alumni endowed an award in honor of their coach, George Ziegelmueller, for his over 30 years of excellent coaching, timeless commitment to the activity and numerous contributions to the forensics community---not the least of which was saving the NDT in 1966. This award is presented to a faculty member who has distinguished himself or herself in the communication profession while coaching teams to competitive success at the NDT.

Recent recipients of this award include:  2010 - Tim O'Donnell; 2011 - Gordon Stables; 2012 - Glen Frappier; 2013 - Ryan Galloway; 2014 – Michael Davis; 2015 – Jarrod Atchison; 2016 William Mosley Jensen; 2017 – Michael Hester.

Please submit any nominations on or before February 28, 2018 to:

Ed Panetta

 on: February 03, 2018, 11:04:58 PM 
Started by Coveny - Last post by Coveny
Hello, is in beta and you can currently complete 1v1, and 2v2 formal debates. Up to 16-man tournament debates should be completed in the near future. We’d love to have you sign up (it’s FREE!!) and participate in some debates or forum discussions. We have some tutorials in the signature below that can walk you through how to create a debate. After completing 5 debates you will be considered a full member and can vote on others debates. So join up now so you can have full membership when beta ends and Elo really matters!

FD Staff

P.S. **debates and forum posts will not be deleted at the end of beta**

 on: January 30, 2018, 08:16:20 AM 
Started by Tracy McFarland - Last post by Tracy McFarland
Dallas Urban Debate Alliance is a vibrant urban debate league serving over 1000 high school and middle school students - and we are seeking a new program coordinator!  Please see attached description of the organization and the job.  If you are interested and/or have questions, feel free to email me as well at

 on: January 27, 2018, 02:08:02 PM 
Started by JCTurner - Last post by JCTurner
I've attached the compiled ballots for the 2018 Herbert L. James Debates.

Thank you to our illustrious and industrious judges.


 on: January 27, 2018, 02:06:56 PM 
Started by JCTurner - Last post by JCTurner
I've attached the tab sheet for the 2018 Herbert L. James debates. 

Great weekend for those of us hosting.


 on: January 26, 2018, 07:26:48 AM 
Started by Amber Kelsie - Last post by Amber Kelsie
The hotel for CEDA 2018 (Dates March 15-18) is La Quinta Inn & Suites - Tacoma-Seattle.  

Block rate is $109/room for March 14-19.  To reserve rooms, call (253) 383-0146 Ext. 5 and refer the group confirmation name: "CEDA National Debate."  

The block closes 2/21/2018.

La Quinta Inn & Suites - Tacoma-Seattle
1425 E 27th Street
Tacoma, WA  98421
(253) 383-0146

 on: January 25, 2018, 08:21:33 AM 
Started by kelly young - Last post by kelly young
Reminder: if you are interested in a graduate coaching position at Wayne State for next year, please contact me at within the week. Although the official deadline has passed, the graduate committee will consider applications for a short time.

 on: January 25, 2018, 12:27:22 AM 
Started by irichardyoung - Last post by nryan
CEDA will waive fees for the first few years for new programs. Lots of directors will also waive entry fees and help find judging to lower the entry burden to tournaments as well. Programs will often volunteer files on the topic to help you get started the Arizona Debate Institute has theirs from the summer here, and the American Debate Associations here, along with teams that are opensource on the college wiki here. We're getting late in the season so there aren't a ton of opportunities to debate on the current topic, but you can find some tournaments on using the circuit NDT-CEDA. If you need any help or contact of people near you that are able to provide a lot more in person assistance let me know.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 10
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMF customization services by
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!