Author Topic: District Bid Allocation & Eligibility Verification  (Read 5982 times)


  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
District Bid Allocation & Eligibility Verification
« on: January 26, 2011, 11:47:40 AM »
Hello Everyone,

Declaration of intent to attend districts is due from district chairs on February 15 no later than 5 pm CST. This means that individual schools will need to provide team names to your district chairs prior to that date.  To be eligible to count toward district bid allocation, you must have paid your dues (subscriber list pasted at the bottom of this email) and provided verification of eligibility to the Chair of the NDT committee by February 8 (instructions included below).  Other requirements are :   

The team must meet the minimum required number of varsity debate rounds (18 rounds for each team member or 32 rounds for one member).

If the district chooses not to hold a district tournament, the District Chair is responsible for verifying that each team has a preliminary win percentage of greater than 40%.

Third teams from a school do not count toward the total number of bid allocation eligible teams from a district. 

If a school has earned one First Round, only one team from that school counts toward the district bid allocation number.  If a school has earned 2 first rounds, no team from their school counts toward district bid allocation.

Sarah PartlowLefevre

Procedures for eligibility verification

The Standing Rules for the Operation of the National Debate Tournament state:

To be an eligible debater for the National Debate Tournament, a student must provide, by February 8th to the NDT committee chair, an official document from appropriate university officials verifying that he/she is registered as a full time or degree seeking undergraduate student and is in good standing at the school, for which he/she is participating, as of February 1st immediately preceding the NDT in which he/she wishes to participate. If the week preceding February 8th is the first week of instruction for an institution, that institution may submit to the NDT committee chair by February 8th a list of students who intend to submit verification documents, and those documents must be received by the NDT committee chair no later than the day prior to the announcement of first round at large bid recipients. (This year that date for receipt is Sunday, February 13, 2011).

Letters should be sent by the deadline via U.S. mail to:

Timothy O'Donnell
Debate/ELC Department
Combs Hall, Room 303
University of Mary Washington
1301 College Ave.
Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5300

Phone: 540-654-1252
Fax: 540-654-1569
Email: and

Sherry Hall's List of NDT Subscribers

The deadline for subscribing has now passed.  This is the official list of schools that are eligible to participate in Districts, At-Large bid processes and the NDT.  If you feel you have been left off this list due to error, please contact me immediately.

2010-2011 NDT Subscribing Schools

Amherst Collge
Appalachian State University
Arizona State University
Augustana University (Illinois)
Baylor University
Binghamton University
Boston College
California Polytechnic @ SLO
California State University @ Chico
California State University @ Fullerton
California State University @ Northridge
Capital University
Case Western Reserve University
City University of New York
Clarion University
Columbia University
Concordia College
Cornell University
Dartmouth College
Emory University
Emporia State University
Gainesville State College
George Mason University
George Washington University
Georgetown University
Georgia State University
Gonzaga University
Harvard University
Idaho State University
Illinois State University
James Madison University
John Carroll University
Johns Hopkins University
Johnson County Community College
Kansas City Kansas Community College
Liberty University
Los Angeles City College
Los Rios Community College District
Loyola Marymount University
Kansas State University
Macalaster College
Michigan State University
Missouri State University
New York University
Northwestern University
Pepperdine University
Rutgers Newark University
Samford University
San Francisco State University
Southern Methodist University
Stanford University
The New School
Towson University
Trinity University
United States Military Academy
United States Naval Academy
University of California @ Berkeley
University of Central Florida
University of Denver
University of Georgia
University of Iowa
University of Kansas
University of Kentucky
University of Louisville
University of Mary Washington
University of Michigan
University of Minnesota
University of Missouri @ Kansas City
University of Nevada @ Las Vegas
University of North Texas
University of Northern Iowa
University of Notre Dame
University of Oklahoma
University of Pittsburgh
University of Puget Sound
University of Richmond
University of Rochester
University of Southern California
University of Texas @ Austin
University of Texas @ Dallas
University of Texas @ San Antonio
University of Vermont
University of Wisconsin @ Oshkosh
University of West Georgia
University of Wyoming
Vanderbilt University
Wake Forest University
Wayne State University
Weber State University
West Virginia University
Western Connecticut State University
Whitman College
Wichita State University