Author Topic: 2011 ADA Nationals Invitation  (Read 3962 times)


  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
2011 ADA Nationals Invitation
« on: January 28, 2011, 02:45:08 PM »
American Debate Association National Championship 

On behalf of the American Debate Association and James Madison University, we would like to invite you to participate in the 24rd Annual American Debate Association National Championship. This year's competition will be hosted by James Madison University from Friday, March 11 through Sunday, March 13, 2011.  This year’s tournament promises to provide a great competitive experience in all three divisions and excellent value for your tournament entry fees.  We hope to see you in Harrisonburg.

Michael Hall, ADA President 

Dr. Mike Davis, Director of Debate, James Madison University & ADA Nationals Host 

Format: The debate topic for the tournament will be the CEDA policy topic, “Resolved: the United States Federal Government should substantially increase the number of and/or substantially expand beneficiary eligibility for its visas for one or more of the following: employment-based immigrant visas, nonimmigrant temporary worker visas, family-based visas, human trafficking-based visas.”

The tournament will be sanctioned by the ADA and CEDA and will be run in accordance with their rules. The ADA rules can be found in the “ADA News” section of the CEDA forums and at

Time limits for speeches are 9-3-6 with ten minutes of preparation time. There will be six preliminary rounds. Rounds one and two will be pre-set. Rounds three through six will be power matched. Three divisions of debate will be offered: novice, junior varsity, and varsity. 

Entries: Enter as many teams as you like in each of the three divisions.  Eligibility for participation in the division is governed by the ADA rules. For the purposes of the ADA National tournament only, a debate team is defined as the two-person team that begins the first rounds of the tournament and who debate together throughout the course of the tournament. Hybrids may debate together at the ADA National Tournament, but they may not clear to elimination rounds. If one of the debaters of a team cannot debate in any given round, that round will be forfeited. Teams that forfeit rounds will be given average speaker points, but are ineligible to clear to elimination rounds if speaker points are the determining factor for their clearing. Debaters who forfeit rounds are ineligible for speaker awards. 
Please enter the tournament by March 9, 2011 at
After that date, e-mail changes directly to Michael Hall at mphall (at)  Teams dropped after the March 9 deadline will be responsible for all entry fees.

Judging: Each school must provide 3 rounds of qualified judging for each team entered in the tournament. All judges will be required to judge through the quarter final elimination round or one round after your last team is eliminated whichever occurs later. Do not count on the tournament to provide hired judges. If hired judging becomes available through the tournament, the cost will be $30 per round ($120.00 per uncovered team). If you need to hire judges, please enter early. 
Judges will be assigned via a mutual preference system beginning in at least the third preliminary round of debate. Judges will be assigned to the first two preliminary rounds using a random placement system. 

Judge Philosophies: Judge philosophies are required for the ADA National Tournament. We prefer that you submit your judge philosophy through Alternately, you may submit an electronic copy to the host one week in advance of the tournament. Send them to Mike Davis at davismk13 (at) A copy of these judge philosophies will be made available at registration of the American Debate Association National Tournament.  Judges who fail to comply at the ADA National Tournament will be ineligible to judge and the schools they represent will be fined $50 plus $30 per committed round ($120 per uncovered team).

Awards: Awards will be provided to teams advancing to the octofinals and beyond, as well as to the top ten speakers in each division. Additionally, awards will be provided to the top two schools in each division as part of the ADA two-team award. The award is determined by the highest preliminary round finish of the two best teams per school in each division. 

Fees: Entry fees are $50 per participant (debater, coach, judge, or observer). Make checks payable to the American Debate Association.

Registration: Will be held Friday afternoon from 1:00pm to 3:00pm in the lobby of the HHS building.  If you are running late, please contact Michael Hall directly at (434) 907-5461 to confirm your registration via phone. 

Hotel: There are two hotel options for the tournament:

Best Western Inn - $59.00 per night
45 Burgess Rd
Harrisonburg, VA 22801-9731
(540) 433-6089
The Best Western has hardwired internet access and exterior rooms. Includes continental breakfast.

Comfort Inn – $72.00
1440 E Market St
Harrisonburg, VA 22801-5110
(540) 433-6066
The Comfort inn has wireless internet access and interior rooms. Includes continental breakfast.

Campus: The tournament will be using the Health and Human Services (HHS) and ISAT buildings.

Tournament participants should park in D2 Lot, directly across from the HHS building.  JMU parking enforcement will not issue tickets to unregistered vehicles in this lot between the hours of 7:00 AM and 11:00 PM on March 11  - 13, 2011.

Please note that regular enforcement will continue in other parking lots, and guests may receive parking citations if parked in restricted lots. Guests are prohibited from parking in specialty spaces such as Service Vehicle spaces, handicap spaces without proper permit, or expired meters. They are also prohibited from parking in Fire Lanes.

Please refer to the JMU parking map to for the location of the D2 lot and tournament buildings. (  We advise you to print a copy of the parking map in advance of your arrival on campus.


Friday, March 11, 2011

1:00 pm – 3:00 pm      Registration in Lobby of HHS Building
3:45 pm         Pairings for rounds 1 and 2
4:30 pm         Round 1
6:30 pm         Dinner (Provided by JMU)
7:30 pm         Round 2

Saturday, March 12, 2011

7:45 am         Pairings
8:30 am         Round 3
11:45 am         Round 4
1:45 pm         Lunch (Provided by JMU)
3:00 pm         Round 5
6:15 pm         Round 6

Sunday, March 13, 2011

7:15 am         Pairings
8:00 am         First elimination round in each division
10:30 am         Awards brunch
12:30 pm         Elimination rounds continue