Author Topic: NDT Judging and Pref Sheets  (Read 2506 times)

John Fritch

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
NDT Judging and Pref Sheets
« on: March 16, 2011, 10:22:41 PM »
Judge preference forms are now available at Preferences were initialized at 11 pm Central Time, Wednesday, March 16.
Preferences will be entered using the ordinal ranking system used at many tournaments this year. As you enter your preferences, you will receive round-weighted percentiles. When judges are arranged by your preference, the number you see is the percentile the particular judge is ranked within the judging pool based on the total number of rounds of commitment in the pool.

A few items to keep in mind:

1.   Final preference sheet will be due at 11 am Central on Thursday, March 24.
2.   Teams will be asked to sign a strike sheet for verification purposes after that time. We will provide more information at registration.
3.   There likely will still be changes in the judging pool. Some teams are still looking for judges to fulfill their obligation. There will likely be some drops as well.
4.   Judges ranked in the bottom 22% of the pool will be considered strikes. Any judge with a ranking of 78% or lower will be considered a strike.
5.   I will provide an update on the judging situation on Sunday.
6.   The following judges have not judged 12 rounds on the topic but are required to be in the judge pool under the standing rules of the NDT. The standing rules state: “NDT Workers: Individuals in attendance at the National Debate Tournament who provide significant coaching to, or argument production for, any team participating in the NDT should be required to enter the judging pool on a supplemental strike sheet for at least four debates or, if it is more appropriate, provide a significant equivalent contribution to the tournament as defined by the tournament host or director.” I have increased the number of strikes by 2% of the judging pool to take these judges into account.

Ford, Rachel
Friend, Gregory
Garner, Ricky
Hall, Brad
Klinger, Michael
Lavelle, Katherine
Lotz, Wes
Lundberg, Chris
Morales, Tristan
Paone, Ralph
Richey, Kate
Robins, Christopher
Rollins, Joel