You are here

New Awards Page Online

 CEDA has just launched its newest site:

CEDA Deadlines Approaching

Hi Everyone:

Three important deadlines are quickly approaching.

(1) CEDA Awards. Deadline is February 20. You can find the online submission info on the CEDA website.

(2) Amendments. Deadline is February 21. Log in to, create content for "amendment," and be sure to select PROPOSED AMENDMENT as the category. If you entered the info correctly, you'll see your amendment listed on the right column under Proposed Amendments.

NDT First Round at Large Bid Announcement

This information was provided by the Director of the NDT, John Fritch. Congratulations to all of these teams.

California BP
Dartmouth AH
Emory MS
Emory WS
Harvard RS
Kansas BJ
Mary Washington KS
Michigan State AW
North Texas CP
Northwestern FW
Oklahoma GW
Towson CL
Wake GL
West Georgia BS
Whitman CS



Rowland Call for contributions


CEDA Awards - The Outstanding New Competitor Award

The recipient will be selected among a pool of applicants who began their participation in interscholastic debate in college, are in their first year of competition and are participating at the CEDA championship tournament. Their application should show evidence of growth and participation in the activity. The student’s participation during the year may have been at any level of competition (e.g. varsity, junior varsity or novice). No preference will be given for either regional or national travel schedules.

CEDA Awards - The All-American Debate Squad Award

The organization should honor a maximum of thirty CEDA debaters as those students who represent the best of intercollegiate debate. They should demonstrate competitive success, academic success, good conduct, and contributions to their squad. No more than two students from a given school shall receive this award. At least two recipients must be from community college programs.

The deadline for submissions is 11:59pm (central), Monday, March 6, 2017.

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

CEDA Awards - National Debate Scholar

The organization should honor students who maintain strong academic records in addition to their competitive accomplishments. There will be no minimum or maximum number of students eligible for any of these awards. To be eligible for any level of national scholar recognition, a student must have attained at least junior standing, competed in at least 18 rounds on the current topic, and meet the minimum grade point average for that specific award.
a. National Debate Scholar – summa cum laude. Minimum 3.75 GPA.
b. National Debate Scholar - magna cum laude. Minimum 3.5 GPA.

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

CEDA Awards - The Matt Grindy Outstanding Graduate Student Coach

This award is intended to recognize both the pedagogical and competitive contributions to the growth and development of policy debate by graduate student coaches, who are balancing their obligations to their school work and that of their programs. The recipient needs to demonstrate excellence in graduate and professional obligations as well as their work as coaches.

The deadline for submissions is 11:59pm (central), Monday, March 6, 2017.

CEDA Awards - The Brownlee Award

The Brownlee Award is given annually to a forensic educator who demonstrates outstanding achievement in scholarship, education and service to CEDA. The award is named in honor of longtime coach and founding CEDA member Don Brownlee. The ideal candidate demonstrates some element of all three factors (scholarship, education and service to CEDA).

The deadline for submissions is 11:59pm (central), Monday, March 6, 2017.

CEDA Awards - The Galentine Award

The annual award named in honor of Rebecca Galentine is designed to recognize an outstanding female debate coach in CEDA. The ideal candidate can demonstrate service to programs and the organization, community building and competitive success.

The deadline for submissions is 11:59pm (central), Monday, March 6, 2017.


Subscribe to Cross Examination Debate Association RSS